Creative Musings of a 17-year-old Dreamer

Archive for May 2, 2013

The Mysterious Adventures of Captain Dirk Drake Chapter 8: Mischief and Mayhem


For those of you new to the story, here are the chapter links and a brief summary

One | Two | Three | Four | Five | Six | Seven

Captain Dirk Drake is Her Majesty Queen Victoria’s favorite agent who has spent the last two years recovering from an injury from his previous mission in Africa. Still adapting to his mechanical arm, Capt. Dirk is given the dangerous mission of investigating the ever-growing cloud of deadly smog rising out of the slums of London. He’s been given a new assistant on this case, Miss Theo Minksy, and they’ve been given a lead. After meeting their informant at the notorious nightclub “White Mink” a name, The Gideon Rose Syndicate, has arisen. Following a further lead, the duo set off to a secret meeting for Syndicate members where they uncovered a shocking truth. The Syndicate believes that becoming Ravagers is part of a sacred spiritual process called the Enlightenment. Struggling to find answers, Dirk and Theo set off for the Slums in hopes of uncovering the truth. Down there, the duo encounter a hoard of Ravagers and find themselves lost in the smoggy London slums. Barely escaping with their lives, Dirk returns home to find an ominous message waiting for him. Deciding to investigate further, he returns to White Mink to find more answers.

Yvette froze, her coy smile falling from her face as she recoiled from the Captain. Dirk grabbed her slender wrist with his mechanical hand, squeezing just enough that she couldn’t slip away. Gently, Dirk turned her wrist up, revealing the inky black tattoo marring the perfectly pale flesh. Yvette sighed, sitting down next to the Captain.

“It was nearly two years ago when the Syndicate approached me. I’d just come over from France, didn’t have a house or job. I was completely alone.”

Yvette smiled sadly at the Captain, “They go after the guttersnipes for a reason, Captain. They take in those with no future, no hope, and give them something to believe in. The…the Doc, he gave me a home. He clothed and sheltered me, asking for nothing in return.”

She chuckled darkly, “Well, not at first at least.

“It started out as little things, like delivering messages or helping shepherd people into meetings. Then, it was recruiting new members. Before I knew it they were calling me ‘high priestess.’

“It wasn’t bad in the beginning. The Doc was a visionary, talking about change and freedom and equality.” Yvette smiled fondly at the memories. “He promised people like me a better life…and we believed him. At first everything was just like he said it’d be. We were unstoppable, his vision seemed unstoppable. But weeks and months went by and it became obvious he was slipping into madness. The…the Ravagers are a blight, not the enlightenment. So many people…dead because of The Doc’s actions…because of my mistakes.” Yvette’s shoulders shook as she suppressed a sob.

“Do you think God can forgive so many sins, Captain? Can he even begin to cleanse the blood from my hands?”

A solitary tear fell down Yvette’s pale cheek.

“I want a way out. I can’t do this anymore. I can’t be responsible for such death and destruction. I…I just can’t. I’ll give you his location, but please…please…don’t hold me accountable for the sins of my youth. I can’t change what I’ve done…or what I might have to do…but maybe I can clear the red in my ledger one small step at a time.”

“That’s all any of us can do, m’dear. Try and make things right one step at a time.” Dirk pulled the trembling woman into his arms, placing a soft kiss on the crown of her golden head.

Yvette tilted her head upwards capturing the Captain’s chapped lips in a desperate kiss. Her small, delicate hands skimmed over the silky fabric of his shirt, deftly unbuttoning the shirt to reveal the smooth planes of his defined chest. Dirk pushed her away momentarily, running a hand through his disheveled hair.

“Yvette, we can’t be doing this. I…I have my work and you, despite your good intentions are the enemy. We just ca–”

“Shh,” Yvette held up a finger to the Captain’s lips. “Just give me this one night. That’s all I’m asking for, Captain.” Receiving no further resistance, Yvette kissed him soundly on the lips, guiding his strong hands to the small of her back. In a tangle of limbs, they fell onto the yielding daybed. The rising sun would bring reality back with it but for the moment, it was time to pretend.

~

The sun rose quietly the next morning, casting it’s pale rays onto the exposed forms lying in bed together. Dirk awoke first, picking the crumpled up shirt off the ground, throwing it over his exposed chest, and reaching for a cigarette from his pocket. Lighting it, he inhaled deeply, feeling the nicotine rush into his exhausted body. His brain was just starting to clear when he heard a hesitant knock on the door. There was the sound of rustling of sheets. Dirk turned back to see Yvette slipping into her robe. She walked over to the door, opening it to see who was standing outside so early in the morning.

“Hello again. I was told I could find Captain Dirk her–” Theo trailed off, taking in Dirk’s disheveled appearance and the smug look on Yvette’s face. Dirk cleared his throat awkwardly, looking down at his shoes as Theo silently fumed.

“Well, I can obviously see you’re busy Captain…I’ll come back later then.” Theo stormed out of the room, leaving a conflicted Dirk in her wake.

Throwing on his trousers and jacket, Dirk rushed after her, grabbing her arm. “Theo…Theo I’m sorry.”

“Don’t be sorry Captain. What you do with your time is none of my business.”

“You’re angry, Theo.”

“Just…just give me space for a bit, alright? You should probably get back and sort things out with Yvette. I’ll meet you back in White Mink in a little bit.”

“Well…if you’re sure, m’dear.” Dirk slowly made his way back to the dressing room.

Sighing angrily, Theo wandered outside to get some fresh air. She stood there in the sunlight, silently observing the still-sleeping district around her.

“It doesn’t get any easier, ya’ know. Seeing someone you love with someone else.”

Theo turned to see a man standing next to her. He looked vaguely familiar.

“Jack. Old army pal of the Captain’s, remember?”

“Oh, yes. What do you mean by it doesn’t get easier?”

“I’ve seen the way you look at him, don’t take a fool to recognize yer’ more than just his assistant.”

Theo blinked back the tears threatening to overwhelm her. “I assure you, he sees me as nothing more than a friend. There’s no point in pursuing anything more.”

Union Jack patted her sympathetically. “You might be surprised about Dirk, m’dear. He might seem like he has it all together, but he has his fair share of flaws. Weakness for woman and  opium haven’t always left him the ‘perfect patriot’ you see today. He’ll come around eventually, but in the meantime, ‘ere’s a little something to keep you occupied. Good luck with that case of yer’s.” Jack deposited a small vial of what looked like rotting human flesh into Theo’s waiting hand.

“Is…is this?”

“Yep. Ravager flesh. Fresh from this morning. Might wanna take a look at it back in the labs sooner rather than later. The Enlightenment is at hand after all.”

“Wait…the Enlightenment? How can you–”

“Sh…don’t ask. I’ve helped you too much already. I need to get back before my presence is missed.”

“Wait!” Theo cried as Union Jack sprinted away, leaving Theo alone once again in the morning light.

Looking carefully at the vial, Theo hailed a cab.

Maybe a quick look at his under the microscope can answer a few questions about this “Enlightenment.”

~

Thoughts? Comments? Suggestions? Leave me a comment!
Links to later chapters (Check Back Weekly):

 Nine | Ten